Tags

, , ,

download

A couple of weeks ago we went to watch Andrew Scott in Hamlet at the Harold Pinter Theatre in London. This is probably the sixth or seventh time that I have seen a production of this play and I never tire of it. As I have also taught the play for GCSE for many years, it is one that I know well and that is part of the enjoyment. I love watching how different directors interpret the text. A few years ago the National Theatre production with Rory Kinnear used the idea of surveillance – everyone was watched by everyone else. This version uses CCTV to great effect.

It is difficult to write about this production in detail because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who is going to see it for themselves, but suffice to say – the creativity of the ending caused an argument between myself and my husband. I loved it, he didn’t.

Andrew Scott is an amazing Hamlet – the Shakespearean language and rhythm has almost been deconstructed so that it feels as if he is having a conversation with the audience. Loved it!

