Tags

, , , , ,

Blood on Snow

by Jo Nesbo

51h9IG0B-zL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

 

This book was a Christmas present and was devoured almost as quickly as my Christmas lunch. I must admit that I was initially disappointed when I saw the thickness of the book after being used to the lovely, weighty Harry Hole novels. However, I needn’t have worried.

A word of caution – do not pick up this book expecting the multi-layered plots of the Hole novels. Even though there is still the graphic gore, this is a very different read. The story is narrated by Olav, who is a fixer. He fixes people for money – for good. You would think that this might make Olav a character that a reader would not warm to, but the truth is very different. Olav is an anti-hero that we come to know. We learn about his miserable childhood, his struggle to find a niche in life. He tells us he has a conscience and then he does something awful, but, we still sympathise with him.

The writing is tight and you do want to keep turning the pages, even though there are not as many as I would have liked. Looking at the reviews for the book, a lot of people are disappointed and feel cheated, but as I said at the beginning, you must not read this expecting the complexities of the Harry Hole series. Approach the book as a short story and you will not be disappointed.

