Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Taxidermist’s Daughter

by Kate Mosse

51KxjLUFcsL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

An enjoyable read, but not one to absolutely blow me away.

The story is set in a Sussex village in 1912 and features Connie Gifford, the taxidermist’s daughter. Connie has no memories of her childhood after a terrible accident left her with amnesia. Her father is a bankrupt taxidermist who refuses to talk of the past. Dark secrets are everywhere.

When a tragic death occurs, Connie find that flashes of memory are trying to break through the darkness. Then people start disappearing…

The story, for me, after a visually stunning opening, was a bit slow to start but the pace picked up very well. Sadly, though, before the end, I had worked out who and why, although the ending was well worked and the final chapter was a surprise – I hadn’t seen that one coming at all.

The ‘good’ characters are likeable, especially Davey – he was my favourite. The descriptions of taxidermy are wonderfully graphic and there is the delightful gothic mix of asylums, madness, anonymous letters and storms.

Can’t say I loved it, but I did like it – a lot

