Tags

, , , , , , ,

Having finally decided to join the crowds and purchase a spiralizer, I thought would share my first experience.

My spiralizer is the Apollo Spiralizer and I found it very easy to work and, more importantly, to clean. I hate gadgets which take longer to wash than to use.

article-2682631-1EDAF1A900000578-878_634x453

My chosen vegetable of choice was the humble butternut squash. I used the top of the squash, not the bit with the seeds. I must admit, it did take me a few minutes to work out ‘how’ to actually use the spiralizer, but once I got the hang of it – wow! As you can see, I made loads of noodles.

2015-10-03 16.10.48

My sauce of choice was a vegetarian option – roasted broccoli, passata, onion and carrot, all flavoured with garlic and mixed herbs. See final version.

2015-10-03 16.33.33

So the verdict. Not too bad, I would say 4/5, my husband’s opinion, 3/5. He found the noodles too crunchy and that is something that I will have to investigate. Trawling through the internet, the common method of cooking butternut squash noodles is to bake them. I did and they were crunchy. Maybe I needed to spread them out so that there is a thinner layer. Maybe there were just too many. I think I might try boiling them like spaghetti next time, unless anyone has any advice to give me.

For a first attempt, I was pleased and I can see a noodle shaped future spiralling ahead of me.

