Tags

, , , , ,

A Man Called Ove

by Fredrik Backman

9781444775815

This book is very probably going to be in my top 5 for 2015. I picked it up because although I usually read Nordic Noir, I had enjoyed ‘The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared’ and from the blurb this book seemed to follow the same format.

Ove is 59 and made redundant. He is grumpy, has very high values and thinks that everyone around him is incompetent. No one knows how to fix a radiator anymore. You might think that this is a one dimensional Victor Meldrew like character, but you would be very, very wrong.

As you read, you are drip-fed little details from Ove’s past. You learn why he is the way he is, you discover that this man actually has a big heart. Every inch of me was rooting for him. I laughed and I certainly cried. This is a bitter-sweet book that is not cloyingly sentimental and it hits every emotion. At its heart, there is a love story. I loved it and can’t wait to read it all over again.

