Tags

, , , , , , ,

Having tried various types of beer in my bread with some success, I’ve decided to experiment a bit this week. For my first loaf, I soaked sultanas in Earl Grey tea. The sultanas made the loaf lovely and sweet, but I didn’t get the Earl Grey hit. I think that next time I will just use Earl Grey tea as my liquid and forget the sultanas.

But my second loaf – wow!

2015-08-15 18.40.13I dropped a couple of these teabags into hot water to stew for an hour before I used the liquid to mix the dough. The flavour is wonderful, there is a real bite to this loaf.

So – on my next trip to the supermarket, I’m doing to be buying lots of different fruit teas. How does strawberry tea bread with chocolate chips sound? That is definitely the next one on my list. Watch this space.

