Tags

, , , ,

Pop Goes The Weasel

by M J Arlidge

51Yx-RtbOUL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This is the second novel by Arlidge and a second outing for DI Helen Grace. Having read his first novel, ‘Eeny Meeny’ I just had to read this second offering. However, I would recommend that you do read ‘Eeny Meeny’ first as some of the plot is given away in this second book.

But, back to this one. This story, set in Southampton, takes place after the events in the first book and some of the characters are still recovering from the aftermath. We see the personal lives of the Helen Grace and her colleagues and by the end of the book, we do wonder what life has in store for them.

The plot – a man is found with his heart cut out. The heart is delivered to his wife in a gift-wrapped box. Someone is sending a message. Who? Why?

The book is page-turning and full of twists. The chapters are very short, I think there were about 100. I was kept guessing, and I will definitely read the next in the series even though Helen Grace is not someone that I can warm to, I do enjoy the thrill of the chase.

It is a book full of gore and shocks. I liked it.

