Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

by Ransom Riggs

MissPPeculiarChildren

I hadn’t actually realised that this was a YA novel when I bought it, I was just intrigued by the photographs and curious to see how they would be used to tell the story.

The book is littered with eerie photographs of Victorian children doing extraordinary things which adds to the ethereal quality of the story; these are Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. The story revolves around Jacob Portman who travels from his home in America to Wales to find out the truth behind his grandfather’s stories. Are they really as fantastical as they appear? In Wales he finds the children that his grandfather told him about and this is when we get swept into the paranormal. The story is captivating and engaging; the pictures add to the other-worldly feel. I’m definitely going to have to buy the sequel at some point.

So, without giving too much away, this is a book of monsters, time-travel, horror, goodness and even love. Intrigued? Then try it, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. And – even if you don’t like the story, you can always look at the mesmerising photographs.

Almost forgot – a Google search revealed that Tim Burton is creating a film of the novel. Will it live up to the book in my mind? I’ll have to wait and see.

