Tags

, , , , , ,

The Martian

by Andy Weir

the-martian

It seems to be ages since I wrote an entry – sometimes work gets in the way of everything.

Anyway – ‘The Martian’.

My son recommended this book and I was sceptical; it’s not my usual read. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This is a modern – or sci-fi – Robinson Crusoe, without Man Friday. Mark Watney is stranded on Mars and uses his wits to try to overcome a succession of impossible problems that could all result in his death. Be warned, there is a lot of technical, sciencey stuff in the book which I didn’t understand. But it didn’t detract from the story at all. There was a lot of humour in the book and a page-turning desire to find out the outcome. Will he live? Will he get rescued? Mark is a likeable character that you root for. How Matt Damon will portray him in the film that is being released this year – I don’t know. Personally, it is very rare that I ever watch a film of a book. I’ve already played the movie in my mind as I’ve been reading and no director ever sees the hero as I do, so maybe I won’t go to watch it. But then again, it will be interesting to see what Ridley Scott does with the story.

