Tags

, ,

2015-05-02 15.47.11

Every year at this time, my own little town is a riot of colour. In years gone by the first weekend in May was always the time of the Spalding Flower Parade. Glorious floats decorated with tulips would parade through the town, interspersed with Brass and Marching Bands. The town used to heave with visitors who would travel from far and wide to watch the wonderful display. In my 20s, I actually sat on one of these floats, not once but twice. It was brilliant, waving and smiling to the crowds who cheered as we passed.

Sadly, two years ago, it was decided that the Parade was no longer a viable proposition. I feel that this was a wrong decision. However – a small part of that glorious weekend is hanging on.

As well as the Flower Parade, all of the local churches would put on their own Flower Festivals. This is what still remains of the legendary Spalding Flower Parade. The floats might have gone, but the churches are still here.

It is my tradition to spend this first weekend travelling to the local churches to marvel in the displays that congregations have given up their time to create. I am never disappointed. The friendliness of those welcoming us as we set foot inside the churches, the beautiful colours, the artistic displays and the creativity is always breath-taking. My photography is, sadly, not first class, but I think that you will be able to get some idea of the wonderful weekend that I have enjoyed.

2015-05-03 11.49.00 2015-05-03 11.49.10 2015-05-03 11.47.102015-05-02 14.43.50

