Tags

, , , ,

15832513

Atmospheric. Thrilling. Satisfying. The final book in Peter May’s Trilogy did not disappoint, and this third book kept up the pace of the previous two. Set in the Hebrides, May’s descriptions are evocative, bringing the area’s rugged beauty to life.

Fin Macleod has now left the police force, but as the crime, the discovery of a body inside a plane that was lost seventeen years previously, involves friends from his past, he gets involved. The relationships between Fin and his friends, and Fin and his childhood sweetheart, well, they are complicated. We get flashbacks to Fin’s teenage years at school and university and watch as Fin and his friends grow up, make mistakes and be human.

I loved this set of books and am sad to now say goodbye to Fin and the Hebrides. I have put Peter May on my list of authors to read and will let you know what I think of his other books when I get around to them. If they are half as good as these, I’m in for a treat.

