Tags

, ,

2015-02-16 18.32.32

When we visited Toronto last year to visit our son, we were introduced to Cinnabon cinnamon rolls. A very sticky experience but, oh so good. So, I always promised myself that I would have a go at making them when I returned to the UK. Now, six months later, I have finally done it.

I researched various recipes/videos on the Internet and finally, with a bit of tweaking, I have come up with something that sort of works. Well, not sort of – they looked good and tasted good, although next time, I think I will be more generous with the cinnamon.

This is what I did – and let me stress once again – I’m not a professional, I just enjoy messing around in the kitchen.

I mixed 500g of strong white flour with 1tsp of salt and a packet of fast action yeast. I use Hovis  bread yeast. In a saucepan I added 40g of butter to 10floz/300ml semi-skimmed milk and warmed it until the butter melted. I added this to the flour mix together with one egg and kneaded the mixture together. I always do this by hand, so therapeutic after a day marking exercise books. I then left the mix to prove for an hour. All of the Internet entries that I read stated that the enriched bread mix would not puff up like ordinary bread dough, and although it did increase in size, there was not the volume that I usually get.

Once the dough had risen, it was time for the fun bit. On a floured surface, I then rolled the dough out to a nice big rectangle. What size? No idea, but it was a nice big rectangle. I tacked one edge down and then proceeded to fill it.

I had previously mixed together 100g of sugar with 3 tsp cinnamon. Now some recipes said brown sugar, I only had caster sugar in the cupboard so used that. I will try it with brown sugar next time and see whether the flavours are different. 3tsps cinnamon seemed an awful lot but I think after tasting the rolls, I could have actually added another one at least. To the bread dough – using my hands as I found that a palette knife was pulling the dough too much – I spread out softened butter – about 25/30g, making sure that all of the dough was covered right up to the edges. Then I poured over the sugar/cinnamon mix and spread that out evenly as well. Once happy, I rolled the dough up nice and tight and cut it into 13 pieces. I’m not sure how – I’m positive that I counted 12, but … These were then placed in a tin that I had lined with greaseproof paper – making sure that there was a gap between each roll to allow for a second prove. These were then covered and left for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, the newly risen rolls were placed in a pre-heated oven at gas mark 5 – which my conversion tables tell me is 190C/375F and baked for 25/30 mins. While they were cooking I made the icing. This is where personal preference comes in. Some recipes used a plain icing sugar/water icing and others a rich cream cheese icing made with cream cheese, butter and icing sugar. As I am watching my weight, I decided that, because I wanted the cream cheese icing, I would make it my way. I used Philadelphia Lightest cream cheese – 100g – and mixed this with enough icing sugar for my palate. I can’t tell you how much, if you want to have a go at making these, just keep beating the icing sugar into the cream cheese until you get to the taste that you want. I didn’t add any butter and I’m not sure what butter would have added – apart from calories.

When the rolls came out of the oven, beautifully risen, I put the icing straight over so that it would melt a little. My husband and I didn’t wait for them to cool down, we dived straight in and wow, they were good. Wonderfully sticky.

As for calories – I tried to work it out and as far as I can get, because I used semi-skimmed milk, low fat cream cheese and NO butter in the icing, I think – and again this are just my calculations – that each roll is around 250 calories.

So, at long last, I can have a taste of Canada in my very own home. Wonderful!

