Tags

, ,

Just thought I would write about a couple of ideas that I have tried.

Poppy seeds.

Well, the idea was to roll the bread dough out after the first proving, sprinkle poppy seeds over the dough and roll up swiss-roll style. However, I didn’t roll the dough out so that it was large enough and so the swirl did not happen, instead, I had a semi-circle of poppy seeds running through my bread. Added to this, I’m not sure that I liked having a crunchy layer in my bread. I’ll have a think about this one.

2015-02-08 16.32.08

Sun-dried tomatoes

I think this loaf is better. I chopped up some sun-dried tomatoes and added them to the dough. The loaf looks ok, it tastes ok. I think that I could have been a bit more generous with the tomatoes, they take a bit of finding.

2015-02-08 16.32.29

As I said in my previous post, I am not a professional baker. I enjoy baking and I enjoy having a go at different things. Sometimes things work, sometimes they don’t. As half-term is on the horizon and I will have a whole week at home I will be experimenting a little bit more. Watch this space.

