Tags

, , , ,

I just want to make it clear that I am not a professional cook. I make things that the family enjoy and if my way isn’t the ‘right’ way, then I don’t mind. It suits me. Therefore, when I am writing about the recipes that I make, I am just telling you how I do it. I am not telling anyone what they should or should not be doing.

Therefore, this is my beer bread. I started making my own bread about three years ago and now I can’t even remember the last time that I bought a loaf of bread from a shop. I enjoy the whole process and the smell of freshly baked bread is something I will never tire of.

I find that adding beer to the mix gives the bread a nice flavour – I like experimenting with different beers. This beer produces a particularly nice loaf.

2015-01-24 11.05.34

This is the way I make my bread, and I stress this is my way, I know professionals will throw up their hands in horror.

500g of bread flour

1tsp sugar

1tsp salt

1 sachet of dried yeast

2tbsp olive oil

Beer/luke warm water mix – as much as I need to bring the mix to a dough.

Then it is just the usual kneading, leaving to prove, knocking back and placing in tins, leaving to prove a second time and baking.

And this is the final result – you’ll have to excuse the photography.

2015-01-24 15.49.06

Signing off now, I have some nice warm bread to eat.

