Tags

, , , ,

It’s that time of year when we all look back and reflect on the year that is ending. So what has my year been like? Well, I amazed myself when I actually realised that I have read 60 books in the past 12 months. I can honestly say that most of them I have thoroughly enjoyed; I’ve laughed and cried equally. So, I’d like to share with you some of my favourite reads of 2014 in no particular order:

The Son by Jo Nesbo I am a huge fan of Jo Nesbo and his latest novel does not disappoint. This is a stand alone novel and although this is a departure from the Harry Hole series, it is no less gripping.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini This was an unforgettable and heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father’s servant set in Afghanistan.

Eeney Meeny by M J Arlidge This was a dark, ingenious thriller where the police are hunting a chilling predator who leaves behind broken survivors. Excellent.

The Curiosity by Stephen P Kiernan Scientists discover a man who has been frozen in the Arctic for over a century and decide to resurrect him in the Lazarus Project. A provocative novel which raises disturbing questions about the very nature of life and humanity.

If you get the chance, I’d recommend picking these up in 2015.

Happy New Year and Happy Reading

