Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Christmas in the post-War United States

Christmas in the post-War United States (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

August has nearly finished and soon everyone’s thoughts will turn to Christmas. I don’t know about you, but I hate to see the shops full of Christmas cards etc. as soon as the calendar turns over to September.
When I was a child, Christmas planning didn’t start until mid – December. I always remember that Dad would take my brother and me shopping when he came home from work on Christmas Eve so that we could buy something for Mum. The week before Christmas, Mum, my brother and I would spend an evening writing Christmas cards – well, she would write them and I would add my name to the bottom and then pass it on to my brother to do the same – I was the eldest, my name always came first. And then there would be the present wrapping day when the whole table would be covered in wrapping paper and sellotape. The tree would go up the week before Christmas. Christmas then was a special time, it was something to look forward to and I feel that by being bombarded with it for four months, it loses something. The excitement and anticipation are lost. After all, who can stay excited for four months? I know I can’t.

However, Christmas aside, the sixth Mike Malone is almost finished. I’m on the last chapter, then it will be the re-reading, the tweaking and the editing. Hopefully, it will be available by the end of September , if not earlier. The new title – IOU.

