Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

English: Mo Farah at the 2010 European Athleti...

English: Mo Farah at the 2010 European Athletics Championships in Barcelona (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have just realised how long it is since I last posted. Time certainly flies, doesn’t it.
The Olympics were great and I especially got caught up in the athletics. Being British, I was so proud of our athletes – Mo Farah, Jess Ennis and the rest. Real role models for our young people. Now in England the football season has started again and I’m not sure what it is like in America and other countries, but our footballers – some of them in particular – are bad role models for the thousands of kids that follow them religiously week after week. Some of our footballers are arrogant, only concerned with signing the next contract that will give them even more money and having a good time – getting their faces in the scandal sheets. Our athletes, showed determination, committment and a pride in their country. Some our footballers don’t even have a pride in their team. Sorry – I’ll get off my soapbox.
I have had a lovely break in Yorkshire while I have been away from the lap-top. Fran and I have found the perfect spot where we get peace and quiet. We can walk, or we can just sit and read or write. It’s secluded and beautiful. Needless to say, I am now over half way in the sixth Mike Malone. I’ll keep you posted.
So, now – back to the beautiful weather that we are, finally, getting in England.
Bye for now.

