Tags

, , , ,

As a teacher, I am saddened by this article.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-16986878
As a teacher, I can believe every word of it. The pupils that I teach live in a world where Facebook, Msn and the new iPhone are the new gods. Books? They never think of picking them up and groan when they have to study a novel in class. I remember being thrilled by Shakespeare when I was their age; they throw up their hands in protest that they have to read him at all.
At my school there is no school choir, no school orchestra, no school drama club. We have tried to get these up and running but the majority of pupils aren’t interested, and those that do show a spark of enthusiasm have it extinguished by parents who cannot take the time to pick them up after school.
My husband and I encouraged our son to read books. We took him to the theatre, we took him to museums and art galleries. it was important for us to make sure that he had lots of different experiences, that he tried all sorts of different things. I feel really sorry for the kids that I teach when the highlight of their weekend is getting a new X-box game or sitting with their friends under the bridge and getting drunk.
Is this phenomena of disinterested, culture less kids worldwide, or is it just peculiar to the UK?

