Tags

, , , ,

This week I had to stay after school for parents’ evening and yet again I was amazed by the number of absent parents. When I was a child I remember my mother turning up at school for every event and parents’ meeting. I did the same for my son. So why do today’s parents seem to put their children second?

Maybe I am being a bit confrontational and for a change, because this year I am teaching a top set, I was busy all evening. But, I have known parents’ evenings when I have sat for two and a half hours and have spoken to three parents. There have even been children that I have taught for their entire secondary school life without ever meeting their parents. It is so sad. If a child’s parents are not interested in their progress and their achievements, how is that child ever going to develop a sense of self-worth?

All children deserve a chance.

